Day 83

Today I learned that there may be oceans of diamond in liquid form on Neptune and Uranus, with solid diamond icebergs floating around. As well, because of large amounts of atmospheric methane and extremely high pressures and temperatures, it may be possible for the sky to rain diamonds on those planets.

Today I meditated for 20 minutes. Food for thought about meditation: Last night, I couldn’t fall asleep right away, so I picked up the nearest book on my bedside table and opened it to a random passage. The book was The Tibetan Book of Living and Dying and the passage read,

“I have found that modern spiritual practitioners lack the knowledge of how to integrate their meditation practice with everyday life. I cannot say it strongly enough: to integrate meditation in action is the whole ground and point and purpose of meditation. The violence and stress, the challenges and distractions of modern life, make this integration even more urgently necessary.”

-Sogyal Rinpoche

Today I acted kindly by helping an adorable toddler (though not quite as adorable as my own niece and nephews) walk up and down… and up and down… and again up and down a staircase in a café, so his parents could have a moment of rest to sip their coffees. He kept laughing, clapping, holding my hand, and grinning at me. That little dude is gonna catch all the ladies’ hearts.

~

Share YOUR thoughts, reactions, ideas, etc. here:

