Day 66

Today I learned about poverty in Bolivia. Apparently the country’s largest export is Bolivians, because so many people emigrate to other countries, especially to Argentina (where, in fact, they often end up in worse situations).

Today I meditated for 15 minutes.

Today I acted kindly by writing quotes or compliments on sticky-notes and, over the course of the day, putting them in the stalls of girls’ washrooms around my campus. Here are two examples:

  • “Beauty is not in the face; beauty is a light in the heart.” -Kahlil Gibran
  • Hey you. You DESERVE to be treated with RESPECT, to feel like a GODDESS, and to be LOVED just the way you are.

And then, a troubling/amazing thing happened. This morning, I had put one sticky-note that said, “Above all else, be the heroine of your life, not the victim.” -Nora Ephron, in a particular stall in a particular washroom in a particular building. This evening, due to a series of unplanned, serendipitous events, I ended up in that same stall in that same washroom in that same building. And there, on the note, someone had written: “It’s hard when society expects you to act a certain way but treats you differently. No one looks at my face or talks to me. My life here sucks.”

In retrospect, what I did next was perhaps not the smartest response: I immediately took out another sticky-note, wrote “I will be your friend! No one should feel that way. Please call ###-####, I’d love to hang out” (with my actual cell-phone number), and stuck it next to the original note.

I don’t know if I did the right thing, and I don’t know what will happen now. Will she call? Will she even go back to that same stall in that same washroom in that same building and see it? Was putting up notes in the first place a bad idea, or offensive? I don’t know. But I hate to think that someone is feeling that way. And I really hope she calls.

~

Share YOUR thoughts, reactions, ideas, etc. here:

