Day 59

Today I learned that comments at the bottom of online articles can sway our opinions of the article, regardless of their legitimacy. In a recent study, participants read the same article, but half the participants then read comments that were favorable toward the article and the other half read comments that were critical of the article. The former group subsequently reported more positive opinions about the topic, whereas the opposite was true for the latter group. (Bonus! I thought that today’s National Geographic Picture-of-the-Day was worth sharing. It featured several stylish people using technology… who also happen to be nomad herders in Afghanistan. Striking combination. Check it out here.)

Today I meditated for 15 minutes. I did my own silent meditation in which I observed my breathing—the sensation of air coming in my nose and filling my lungs, the expansion and relaxing of my diaphragm—without trying to change, control, or judge the rhythm and while letting thoughts subside. (Although I would love to meditate for much longer periods, with an action-packed schedule, I tend to use this timer for self-guided meditations, which may be useful to some of you.)

“When we spend time in silence, we can hear the voice of our soul whispering its sacred message and encouraging us to make choices that bring us more happiness, health, love, meaning, and peace.”
-David Simon

Today I acted kindly by picking up and throwing away all the litter along my walk home. (I was happy to note that there was much less litter than when I did the same on Day 9!)

~

Share YOUR thoughts, reactions, ideas, etc. here:

