Day 23

Today I learned the origins of the phrase, “You can have your cake and eat it too.” First, it turns out that the expression is actually, “You can’t have your cake and eat it too.” Huh. But….. Anyway, the first recording of the phrase seems to be by John Heywood in 1546, who wrote it rather eloquently: “Wolde ye bothe eate your cake, and haue your cake?” However, it may have appeared in a letter for Thomas Cromwell from the Duke of Norfolk in 1538. More on the meaning here. (Special thanks to the slice of cheesecake in my stomach that prompted this important lesson. Yeah, I had cake, and I ate it too.)

Today I meditated for 20 minutes.

Today I acted kindly by offering to finish shoveling snow for a stranger who was clearing the sidewalk in the midst of ice-rain. (Unfortunately, the stranger did not understand English and my attempts to mime the action of shoveling while pointing to myself proved futile. He may or may not have thought that I was trying to steal his shovel. At least I tried… and we both laughed!)

~

Share YOUR thoughts, reactions, ideas, etc. here:

